UN Appoints Aliko Dangote and Akinwumi Adesina to Tackle Global Malnutrition

The United Nations has appointed the president of Dangote Group, Aliko Dangote and Akinwunmi Adesina, president of the African Development Bank. the duo were chosen as part of the 27 global leaders to tackle global malnutrition. 

Many people in the world suffer as a result of chronic food shortage. Malnutrition results from insufficient intake of food nutrients. In 2016, the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) estimated that roughly 815 million out of the 7.6 billion people suffered from undernourishment. It is also estimated that malnutrition cost the global community over $3.5 trillion per annum. Hence, the need for the UN’s intervention.

The 27 agro stakeholders were appointed by Antonio Guterres, Secretary-general of the United Nations as part of the Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) committee.

See also: AATF partners IRRI to Scale Hybrid Rice Production in Africa

The members will decide on the advancement of the SUN Movement into its third phase (2021 – 2025). They will also commit to achieving the objectives of the forthcoming 2020 Tokyo Nutrition for Growth Summit.

The 27 members appointed to the SUN movement are:

  • Henrietta H. FORE (USA)

Executive Director, UNICEF, and Chairman of the SUN Movement Lead Group

  • Akinwumi ADESINA (Nigeria)

President, African Development Bank

  • Aliko DANGOTE (Nigeria)

Chairman and CEO, Dangote Group

  • Manal AL ALEM (Jordan), 


  • Reem Ebrahim AL-HASHIMI (UAE),

Cabinet Member and Minister of State for International Cooperation

  • Mercedes ARÁOZ FERNÁNDEZ (Peru),

Vice-President, Republic of Peru

  • Inger ASHING (SWEDEN),

CEO, Save the Children International

  • Cherrie ATILANO (Philippines),

Founder and CEO, Agrea Agricultural Systems International Inc.

  • Alicia BÁRCENA IBARRA, (Mexico)

Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

  • David BEASLEY (USA)

Executive Director, World Food Programme

  • Martin CHUNGONG (Cameroon),

Secretary-General, Inter-Parliamentary Union

  • Josefa Leonel CORREIA SACKO (Angola),

Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture, African Union Commission

  • Annette DIXON (New Zealand)

Vice President Human Development, World Bank

  • Chris ELIAS (United States of America)

President of Global Development, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

  • Shenggen FAN (China),

Director-General, International Food Policy Research Institute

  • Sophie HEALY-THOW (Ireland),

Youth Leader

  • Daniel KABLAN DUNCAN, (Côte d’Ivoire),

Vice Président Côte d’Ivoire

  • Monica Katebe MUSONDA (Zambia),

Founder and CEO, Java Foods

  • Jakaya KIKWETE (Tanzania)

Former President United Republic of Tanzania, Kikwete Foundation

  • Shinichi KITAOKA (Japan),

President Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)

  • Maryam MONSEF (Canada),

Minister of International Development and Minister for Women and Gender Equality, Canada

  • David NABARRO (United Kingdom),

Sustainable Development Facilitator, 4SD

  • Sania NISHTAR (Pakistan),

Founder and President, Heartfile Foundation

  • Inia SERUIRATU (Fiji),

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Fiji

  • Feike SIJBESMA (The Netherlands),

CEO, Royal Dutch DSM

  • Gunhild Anker STORDALEN (Norway),

Founder and President, EAT Foundation

  • Gerda VERBURG (The Netherlands),

UN Assistant Secretary-General and Coordinator of the SUN Movement